Reynolds High School Journalism Institute

Applications for 2015 will be available in November!

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institutes are intensive two-week journalism training programs for secondary school teachers. The Institutes combine in-depth instruction on journalism skills and hands-on experience.  Teachers learn how to produce top-notch student publications, primarily online with multimedia tools. Travel, housing, meals and materials are paid by the Institutes. Participants receive free graduate credit or continuing education credit and can select from the following dates:

The Institutes not only provide participants with continuing education credit, but also cover an array of topics, including news literacy, reporting, writing, editing, multimedia, photojournalism, online layout and design, journalistic credibility, ethics and responsibilities, opinion pages, the future of news, business-side skills, First Amendment matters, privacy and the state of scholastic press freedom. For more details, see completed projects and syllabi from the Institutes.

As part of the Institutes, teachers tour major print publications and take field trips to learn how to report on live events. Each teacher completes various projects throughout the Institutes to gain valuable experience. Teachers also develop lesson plans and journalism curriculum. The Institutes also make learning fun. Best of all, the Institutes are free — thanks to funding by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation.

Since 2000, the Institutes have trained more than 2,100 teachers. Most participants tell us the Institutes are the best professional development they’ve ever received. Participants use the knowledge they gain at the Institutes to advance in their careers and become leaders in the profession. Many receive recognition from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, the Journalism Education Association, the Dow Jones News Fund and other organizations for their contributions to journalism education. Institute participants who later received recognition from the Dow Jones News Fund include:

Teachers of the Year
Ellen Austin, 2012; Valerie Penton Kibler, 2010; Alan Weintraut, 2006.
(Read a Q&A with Ellen Austin about how the Institute shaped her career.)

Distinguished Advisers
Stan Zoller, 2011; Coni Grebel, 2010; Susan Goins Newell, 2010; Joe Humphrey, 2010; Christina Geabhart, 2009; Logan Aimone, 2005.

Special Recognition Advisers
Ana Rosenthal, 2013; Derek Smith, 2013; Jeff Kocur, 2012; Melissa Wantz, 2012; Rebeca Zimmermann, 2012; Scott Menscher, 2011; Starr Sackstein, 2011; Elizabeth Cardenas, 2010; Stephen Chiger, 2006; Cindy Pshigoda, 2003; A. Mario Rios Jr., 2001.

The Institutes are funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada, it is one of the largest private foundations in the United States.

The American Society of News Editors administers the Institutes. ASNE is a nonprofit professional organization formed in 1922 that promotes principled journalism, protects First Amendment rights and fights for open government. Key ASNE initiatives include leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion, and youth journalism. The ASNE Youth Journalism Initiative created and operates

Unable to attend? See recorded sessions below.  You can also obtain handouts and view excerpts and reports on sessions.

Recorded Sessions

2013 University of Missouri

2012 University of Missouri

2011 University of Missouri






Print Friendly