Free graduate credit and training — apply now for Reynolds High School Journalism Institute

Attend the Reynolds High School Journalism Institute and receive free graduate credit or continuing education credit. These premier two-week summer workshops combine in-depth instruction on journalism skills and hands-on experience. Teachers learn how to produce top-notch student publications, primarily online with multimedia tools. Best of all, the Institutes are completely free — including transportation, lodging and meals — thanks to funding by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation. Apply by March 1!

Since 2000, the Institutes have trained more than 2,100 journalism teachers. Participants use the knowledge they gain at the Institutes to advance in their careers and become leaders in the profession. Many receive recognition from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, the Journalism Education Association, the Dow Jones News Fund and other organizations for their contributions to journalism education.

Participants can select from the following dates:
June 15-27: Arizona State University
July 6-18: Kent State University
July 13-25: University of Missouri
July 13-25: University of Texas at Austin

The Institutes cover an array of topics, including news literacy, reporting, writing, editing, multimedia, photojournalism, online layout and design, journalistic credibility, ethics and responsibilities, the future of news, business-side skills, First Amendment matters, privacy and the state of scholastic press freedom.

Institute participants who later received recognition from the Dow Jones News Fund include:

Teachers of the Year
Ellen Austin, 2012; Aaron Manfull, 2011; Valerie Penton Kibler, 2010; Alan Weintraut, 2006.

Distinguished Advisers
Stan Zoller, 2011; Coni Grebel, 2010; Susan Goins Newell, 2010; Joe Humphrey, 2010; Christina Geabhart, 2009; Logan Aimone, 2005.

Special Recognition Advisers
Ana Rosenthal, 2013; Derek Smith, 2013; Jeff Kocur, 2012; Melissa Wantz, 2012; Rebeca Zimmermann, 2012; Scott Menscher, 2011; Starr Sackstein, 2011; Elizabeth Cardenas, 2010; Stephen Chiger, 2006; Cindy Pshigoda, 2003; A. Mario Rios Jr., 2001.

The Institutes are funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada, it is one of the largest private foundations in the United States.

The American Society of News Editors administers the Institutes. ASNE is a nonprofit professional organization formed in 1922 that promotes principled journalism, protects First Amendment rights and fights for open government. Key ASNE initiatives include leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion, and youth journalism. The ASNE Youth Journalism Initiative created and operates

For more information contact Megan Schumacher at [email protected]