High school teachers to participate in Reynolds Institute at Arizona State

Release courtesy ASU News.

Thirty-five high school journalism teachers from across the country will enhance their skills at Arizona State University this summer in a training program funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and administered by the American Society of News Editors through its Youth Journalism Initiative.

In its eighth year at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the two-week Reynolds High School Journalism Institute immerses teachers in specialized skills, such as writing, editing, reporting, multimedia, layout and photojournalism. It also provides grounding in professional ethics, news literacy, the First Amendment and scholastic press freedom.

Participants, many from underrepresented high schools, are supplied with housing, meals, continuing-education credit and instructional materials free of charge.

The boot camp-style workshop is taught by Steve Elliott, director of digital news for the Cronkite School’s professional reporting program Cronkite News Service.

Elliott said teachers consistently describe the Institute as a once-in-a-lifetime experience that enhances their skills and builds lasting professional contacts.

“It’s been extremely rewarding through the years to see the benefits of this instruction not just through these dedicated teachers, but through the countless students they influence back home by creating more engaged, informed campuses,” Elliott said.

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute will take place in the Cronkite School’s state-of-the-art media complex in downtown Phoenix from June 15 to 27. The other Institutes are at Kent State University; University of Missouri, Columbia; and University of Texas at Austin.

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is a philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed more than $150 million to journalism initiatives nationally.

The American Society of News Editors, founded in 1922, is dedicated to the leadership of American journalism. ASNE is comprised of top editors, producers and directors at news organizations; deans, directors and endowed chairs at accredited journalism schools; and leaders of journalism foundations and training organizations.

ASNE’s Youth Journalism Initiative, launched in 2000, provides journalism-related training and resources for teachers and students across the curriculum. Its goal is for every student to learn why news matters and acquire the skills needed to succeed as 21st-Century citizens. These resources are available to all educators and the public at SchoolJournalism.org

2014 Reynolds High School Journalism Institute participants at ASU:
Tracy Anderson, Community High School, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Candace Bagwell, Heritage High School, Frisco, Texas
Lisa Biber, Brodhead High School, Brodhead, Wis.
Cynthia Brown, Woodland High School, Stockbridge, Ga.
Travis Durfee, Watkins Glen Central School District, Watkins Glen, N.Y.
Silean Eaves, School Without Walls Francis Stevens, Washington, D.C.
Steffi Floch, Taylorsville High School, Taylorsville, Utah
Kristin Garletts, Rio Rancho High School, Rio Rancho, N.M.
Kelly Gastman, Roseville, Roseville, Calif.
Annie Gorenstein, Arvada West High School, Arvada, Colo.
Becca Hargis, Campbell High School, Smyrna, Ga.
Angela Hobart, Starkville High School, Starkville, Miss.
Shelley Job, Hanover-Horton High School , Horton , Mich.
Kari Koshiol, Benilde-St. Margaret’s, St. Louis Park, Minn.
Shannon Kuehmichel, Berlin High School, Berlin, Wis.
Laura Medina, Montini Catholic High School, Lombard, Ill.
Ginny Miller, Tupelo High School, Tupelo, Miss.
Jerry Miller, Sparks High School, Sparks, Nev.
Katie Moreno, Seven Lakes High School, Katy, Texas
Kristen Morey, Fremont High School, Ogden, Utah
Sharon Northington, McCracken County High School, Paducah, Ky.
Bobby Oliver, San Pasqual High School, Escondido, Calif.
Divona Phillips, Irving High School, Irving, Texas
Krystin Pinckard, Mountain Pointe High School, Phoenix
Dana Savage, Innovations Early College High School, Salt Lake City
Heather Schwartz, Hillcrest High School, Ammon, Idaho
Luis Senteno, San Diego High, San Diego
Terry Sheffield, Roy High School, Roy, Utah
Corie Shields, Classical Academy High School, Escondido, Calif.
Jillian Singletary, Harding Fine Arts Academy, Oklahoma City
Cherita Smith, Creative Communications Academy, Calumet City, Ill.
David Strom, North-Grand High School, Chicago
Dave Tow, Terra Linda High School, San Rafael, Calif.
Kenya Vance, Creative Communications Academy, Calumet City, Ill.
Kathryn Wilkins, Kearns High School, Kearns, Utah